Characterization of Nano-biomaterials with Electrospray Differential Mobility Analysis

Friday, January 24, 2014
2:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m.
FDA White Oak
Ann Anonsen

Michael R.  Zachariah, Professor of Chemical Engineering and Chemistry, University of Maryland, College Park

Characterization of nano-biomaterials with Electrospray Differential Mobility Analysis

View Recording


The Lecture will discuss the combination of Electrospray and Differential Mobility Analysis (ES-DMA) as a powerful tool to rapidly characterize bionanoparticles in liquids. ES-DMA is similar to electrospray-mass spectrometry (ES-MS), but measures the effective particle size, rather than mass. It has a wide range of applications and nominally can be used to characterize bio-molecules and nanoparticles ranging in size from a few nanometers (~ 3 nm) to several hundred nanometers, to obtain multimodal size distributions in minutes. While both the ES and the DMA are mature technologies, they are finding increased use in combination to characterize particles In this talk I will discuss the basic fundamentals of the technique, and out application of the method to study a variety of  bionanoparticles including polymers, proteins, viruses, and nanoparticle-biomolecule conjugates.


Professor Zachariah is the founding Director of the University of Maryland/NIST Center for NanoManufacturing and Metrology and was the founding Director of the Army Center for Nanoenergetics Research.  He has published over 290 scientific papers, and presented over 100 invited lectures.  He has published extensively on the metrology of nanoparticles in both the liquid and gas phases.  This includes the development of new mass-spectrometry and ion-mobility methods to characterize nanoparticles and their reactivity.  He also has numerous publications on both phenomenological and atomistic modeling of the thermophysical properties of nanoparticles.  He is a recipient of the University of Maryland Outstanding Researcher Award, and the Sinclair Award for Sustained Excellence in Aerosol Research awarded by the American Association for Aerosol Research.

Audience: Public 


July 2018

1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31 1 2 3 4
Submit an Event